Blog & News

George Copway

Self-Cultivation, Individual Change: A Study of Thoreau's Indian Notebooks

Offered through the Concord Historical Collaborative at Concord Carlisle Adult & Community Education and led by Thoreau Society Executive Director Michael Frederick.

Henry David Thoreau’s study of Native Americans and their culture helped contribute to his understanding of people who lived on the margins of society. 

Wed, Feb 13, 2:30-4 pm, Thoreau Farm: Birthplace...

Book of Origins: Rude Tales from the Big Bang to the Big Now

Nothing is sacred to writer and Arctic explorer Lawrence Millman. In “The Book of Origins,” Millman explores religion, politics, sex, technology, science, and money. And, through his cold eye, all are equally skewered in this sarcastic, irreverent, and witty book of vignettes. If you like tales in the tradition of George Carlin, Jonathan Swift, and Italo Calvino, you will enjoy this event.

...

scarlet elf cup mushroom

Join us for our second annual Super Cup Fungus Sunday!

Sponsored by the Thoreau Society and Thoreau Farm.

Mycologist and author of Fascinating Fungi of New England, Lawrence Millman, will be the foray leader on a mushroom identification walk to rival all other winter mushroom activities taking place this Super Bowl Sunday. “The Super Cup Fungus Sunday provides an alternative for Thoreau-minded individuals who think...

Thoreau Society

The Thoreau Society is pleased to announce the fourth annual Marjorie Harding Memorial Fellowship, generously funded by the Harding family. The fellowship honors the life and legacy of Marjorie Brook Harding, who worked diligently to bring together the Thoreau Society, the Walden Woods Project, and SUNY Geneseo so as to advance Thoreau studies and conservation of Thoreau Country and to keep alive the legacy of Walter Harding, Marjorie’s husband, widely known as the dean of Thoreau studies. The fruits of this labor can be seen in the Digital Thoreau Project, the annual...

Thoreau College

by Ernesto Estrella

Thoreau College

In the year of his 200th anniversary, Thoreau was celebrated in all possible ways we could expect and desire. Books, articles, symposia, and even a game based on Walden appeared, trying to make his work visible (and audible) in the noisy context of a tumultuous 2017. 

Particularly encouraging, given our pressing current challenges, is...

2019 Thoreau Society Graduate Student Fellowship

The Thoreau Society is pleased to announce its inaugural graduate student fellowship. The 2019 Thoreau Graduate Student Fellow will receive $1,000 for travel and Thoreau-related research in greater Boston area, plus free attendance at the 2019 Thoreau Society Annual Gathering in Concord, Massachusetts. (Attendance at the Annual Gathering is not required and will not be factored into the fellowship committee’s evaluation.)

We welcome applications from scholars whose work will contribute to Thoreau scholarship or whose work...

John Brown

Posted on Wicked Local: Concord

 The Concord Museum will host “Slavery’s Determined Foe: The Legacy of John Brown” with two scholars, Dr. Amanda Gilvin and Laura McDonald, at 7 p.m. Jan. 24 at the Rasmussen Education Center., 200 Lexington Road, Concord.

Concord is home to the flashpoint of a revolution, discussions of protest, peace and war and the people who defined American ideals. Inspired by this past, the Concord Perspectives series uses history as a lens to analyze...

Henry David Thoreau: Surveyor of the Soul

Documentary film by Huey

December 6, 2018, 10 PM, Broadcast Maine Public Television

January 3, 2019, 10PM, Broadcast Maine Public Television

January 5, 2019, 11AM, Broadcast Maine Public Television

January 26, Workshop Presentation of Surveyor of the Soul, Annual Summit, Appalachian Mountain Club, Four Points Sheraton Hotel,...

Concord, Mass. surveyed by Henry D. Thoreau

Thoreau pencil logo

The Thoreau Society Annual Gathering 2019

Engineering Thoreau:  Nature, Technology, and the Connected Life

The Thoreau Society is now accepting proposals for papers, presentations, and workshops at the 2019 Annual Gathering. Please use...

Pages