Skip to content

Honorary Advisors

Terry Tempest Williams
Nature Writer and

James E. Francis, Sr.
Penobscot Nation
Tribal Historian


Rochelle Johnson, PhD – 2022-2024
Boise, ID

John J. Kucich, PhD – 2021-2024
Maynard, MA
Vice President

Michael Schleifer, CPA – 2023-2025
Brooklyn, New York

Geoff Wisner – 2023-2025
New York, NY

Michael Frederick – 2006-Present
Concord, MA
Executive Director

Board of Directors

Kristen Case, PhD – 2023-2024
Farmington, ME

Theodore David, JD – 2021-2024
Ramsey, NJ

Rebecca Kneale Gould, PhD – 2021-2024
North Ferrisburgh, VT

Robert A. Gross, PhD – 2021-2024
Concord, MA

Richard Higgins – 2022-2025
Concord, MA

Christina Katopodis, PhD – 2021-2024
Brooklyn, NY

Dennis Noson, PhD – 2022-2025
Seattle, WA

Henrik Otterberg, PhD – 2021-2024
Gothenburg, Sweden

Beverly Pittman, PhD – 2023-2024
Philadelphia, PA

Catherine Staples, MA – 2023-2024
Devon, PA

Robert M. Thorson, PhD – 2022-2025
Storrs, CT

Get news from the Thoreau Society and learn about ways you can help preserve Thoreau Country as part of our common heritage and as the embodiment of Thoreau’s landmark contributions to social, political, and environmental thought.

The Thoreau Society®, Inc.
341 Virginia Road, Concord, MA 01742
P: (978) 369-5310
F: (978) 369-5382

Educating people about the life, works, and legacy of Henry David Thoreau, challenging all to live a deliberate, considered life—since 1941.


Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Back To Top